distal-attribute
distal-attribute
distal-attribute
distal-attribute

grants on particular stored routines in user manager

Tribal posted 4 years ago in General
hey anse,
is there any way to manage grants on particular stored routines (and maybe other objects, didn't test it yet) in the user manager?
my problem is i can't see weather a user has the execute privilege on a stored routine 'cause apparently the user manager also treats stored routines as tables so i can't tick any execute privilege checkbox :(
the only solution (as i found out yet) would be granting the execute privilege on the whole database to the user, but i only want him to call one single routine, nothing else...
sure, i can manage that via a simple grant command in the query tab but thats not the reason i'm using such a powerful pease of software winkand besides that it still wouldn't solve my problem not seeing wether the user has that specific privilege...

thanks in advance,
tribal
Tribal posted 4 years ago
ohh, should read piece, not pease happy
ansgar posted 4 years ago
Did you see the "Add privilege" button? That's for adding privs to single objects.
Tribal posted 4 years ago
yes, actually i did ^^
but when selecting the routine and adding it to the privilege list its represented as a table with its appertaining privs and the execute priv certainly doesn't belong to a tables ones so consequently it's currently not possible for me to grant the execute priv on one single routine via the user manager as there simply isn't no checkbox to tick happy
ansgar posted 4 years ago
Oh I see what you mean now. Well, there is no routine specific privilege in the managed table mysql.tables_priv . HeidiSQL does currently nothing with the potentially existing mysql.procs_priv - that's the problem. Think the whole dialog code needs again a refactoring in order to implement that.
ansgar posted 4 years ago
Refactoring done in r3585. Hope you like it.
Tribal posted 4 years ago
well done, exactly what i've been looking for :)
the only thing that could confuse some is the fact that a privilege object doesn't become deleted until unchecking it completely and saving the privileges...but as far as i can see that's not quite so urgent ;)

thanks again!
ansgar posted 4 years ago
I already thought about that, where previous versions had a delete button which I have removed now. I think that button could also confuse users, when having unchecked privileges. Probably something which just needs some hint.

Please login to leave a reply, or register at first.