distal-attribute
distal-attribute
distal-attribute
distal-attribute

Open last used DB and table at reconnect

User, date Message
Written by IJay
4 years ago
Category: Feature discussion
9 posts since Fri, 13 Aug 10
Hi,

Most the time I work only with one certain database in a profile/session.

So usually I have to run HeidiSQL, choose the session, open the datebase in the tree view (which btw is weird since it is always only one DB anyway in all of my accounts [yes, I know, it could be more, but it's not in any of my cases - opening the DB by default if there's only one DB would be handy]) and select a certain table (which is the same most of the time).

I found the setting "Automatically reconnect to previously opened sessions on startup" which already saves some time. But it would be nice if this feature would also open up the database in the tree and select the last used table with the last used tab.

Since I perform the same action over and over again it would save a lot of time.
Written by ansgar
4 years ago
4988 posts since Fri, 07 Apr 06
As you activated the reconnect option, you did not notice the checkbox "Restore last database..." ? Please have a look at Tools > Preferences. Only the table cannot be opened by default - which I would not agree to implement, that sounds weird.
Written by IJay
4 years ago
9 posts since Fri, 13 Aug 10
Yes, it is selected as well. However, this only makes the DB selected. I still have to click the arrow at its left to open the tree, then click the table that I'm working with and then select the Data tab to see the content I'm working with. You might say, that those are "only" three clicks, but performing this action a couple of times per day is annoying.

If there are reasons against setting this as the default behavior with "Automatically reconnect..." I'd very much appreciate it to have an additional option like "Restore previously used workspace".
Written by ansgar
4 years ago
4988 posts since Fri, 07 Apr 06
As said, sounds weird if the table would be auto-reopened, for some reason I can't explain. But let's think about that for a day.
Written by IJay
4 years ago
9 posts since Fri, 13 Aug 10
Think of it as kind of a hibernation mode. Using Hibernation on Windows restores the workspace exactly as is was before. So all windows are restored in the same position as they were when you left them because its simply very convenient and time saving to continue your work at the point where you left. And if it's configurable as an option, people can choose between Hibernation and the regular Shut-Down. ;)
Written by ansgar
4 years ago
4988 posts since Fri, 07 Apr 06
Hibernation would mean you do not close HeidiSQL - which is what I definitely recommend to you. After your system wakes up HeidiSQL may need to reconnect which is internally done without some user interaction - no problem.

If you instead restart Windows, all the programs are not reopened, are they?
Written by IJay
4 years ago
9 posts since Fri, 13 Aug 10
Yes, they are. Windows provides the option
"Restore previous folder windows at logon".
which I have turned on.

Screenshot:
http://www.vistax64.com/attachments/tutorials/9153d1230972699-previous-open-folder-windows-restore-logon-folder_options.jpg

But you're right. That example would have been better than my Hibernation-attempt. ;)

But after all: Preferences/options are made for customizing a program to the taste of a user. So if you would not use this option, there might be people who would. Since it is optional to set this, it doesn't hurt anyone. Please consider that it's not about whether one or another user does not need this feature but that there are use cases where it would make sence to restore a session as it was before.
Written by ansgar
4 years ago
4988 posts since Fri, 07 Apr 06
I still disagree - this is neither something for the majority nor a bigger group of users. Making that an option is just the last way to go, and was already used for too many features which we do have now and noone uses.

As said, your perfect solution would be to just leave HeidiSQL open and go into hibernate or standby mode. What's the problem here?
Written by IJay
4 years ago
9 posts since Fri, 13 Aug 10
"this is neither something for the majority nor a bigger group of users"
And how exactly to you know that? Because nobody asked about that before? I'm working in the usability area and developing software myself, so I know that people tend to report bugs very quickly. But if it comes to usability they either try to adapt to the program over time (until they don't even see how they're doing the same steps over and over again) or they complain "in their head" but not officially. This makes it very hard to distinguish what might make usability better. You'd need direct usability testing with Morae (or similar) to make proper improvements. So how did you find out, that nobody except for me needs this option?
I'm using HeidiSQL since years. I used it even before it was called HeidiSQL (sorry I forgot the former name, under which it is now a commercial project). So as you see it took me quite a while to write this suggestion although it would have been useful all the way. I actually have some more suggestions but seeing how difficult it is to convince you to add a new checkbox I'm not sure if it's worth to invest the same amount of time in the other suggestions as well. In the end it seems that you alone decide based on your own personal taste whether something is useful or not. Let's say you are right and most of the people (80-90%) don't need this option. There are still 10-20% who would appreciate this feature.

"was already used for too many features which we do have now and noone uses"
How exactly do you know?
I like the clean interface of HeidiSQL so you did a good job in hiding most of the stuff under the hood. Imho this should always be the goal. But: all those features that you mention exist and people might use it without you knowing. So be proud instead of regretting those features (whatever you might mean).

"just leave HeidiSQL open and go into hibernate or standby mode. What's the problem here?"
Seriously? If HeidiSQl would be the only program that I use that would be a solution. But I use let's say 20 applications per day. I can't leave them all open all the time. Maybe it's a way to save development time but that's certainly not a solution.
Written by ansgar
4 years ago
4988 posts since Fri, 07 Apr 06
> And how exactly to you know that?
Obviously I can't know definitely, so it is an assumption, based on countless discussions in Heidi's issue tracker. After some years you get some kind of feeling for features and how many users are using them.

> In the end it seems that you alone decide based on your
> own personal taste whether something is useful or not.
Yes, exactly. How would you suggest I should decide if not based on my personal taste? I won't of course say yes to everything, should I?

I'm sorry but this is the way HeidiSQL has evolved over the years and I'm convinced about this style as I get much nice feedback from users.
Written by IJay
4 years ago
9 posts since Fri, 13 Aug 10
> as I get much nice feedback from users
Sure you are. HeidiSQL is a great product and I like using it since the beginning and it has greatly improved in the last years. I'm very thankful that this product exists and appreciate your work.

However, as a long-term user and software-developer myself I see one or another edge that could be smoothened. One of the things is the scenario that I'm trying to convince you here of. I'm not requesting any change in the default behavior, nor do I request a change in a core functionality. I simply see a possibility to save time for users like me that have to perform similar operations on a regular basis. If you're using HeidiSQL in another way, you might not see the point, but you have to accept that people are using for different scenarios.

And even if you don't agree to the whole restoring-the-last-state option, you have to admit that if there's only ONE database node, the first thing the user will do is opening it. My webhost creates for each DB a new user account for security reasons. This means in all of my DBs the first thing I have to do, is to open the single DB node on the left side. It's always the first action. No matter what I'm going to do. Do you agree with this? If yes, could you please at least open the DB node if there's only one DB for that user available anyways? Leave them closed if there is more than one DB node. I don't see how this might interfere with anything in a bad way.
Written by ansgar
4 years ago
4988 posts since Fri, 07 Apr 06
Agree with the database expanding stuff. r3640 auto expands the active database on startup.
Written by IJay
4 years ago
9 posts since Fri, 13 Aug 10
At least something.winkThank you.
 

Please login to leave a reply, or register at first.